The “What is art” question

So often asked. No single (or simple) answer.

Rightbrain Rockstar is asking this question at the moment as a well-meaning follow-up to a blogger’s response to another question. This is how it can go on!  A very succinct comment came from clinock recently on my last blog:

“Sometimes I think that we all angst too much about art. It’s clean, intellectual fun to endlessly discuss the issues of art – what is and what isn’t art etc. But in the end a person makes art for reason x and a viewer likes or doesn’t like the art for reason y. And life goes on…Jasper Johns said that making art is to “take something and do something to it”.

I can almost hear a sports shoe slogan here. Or, Your mission if you choose to accept it…..

My colleague KOPPARROX urges me not to keep the canvases waiting too long. So on that note, I have had a sort of painting clinic this week.

As background, you need to understand that my husband is apt to whisk something out of the studio and hang it up in the living room while I am otherwise occupied. As a result there are a number of paintings on display that I feel are not quite resolved. The great advantage is that there is ample opportunity to view the pictures in a more detached way over time. Last week I took 6 down and gave them the treatment. Still 3 more to do, but other work calls more loudly. Here is a peek at the wall. A bit like crazy paving, but it changes. Can you spot the two works by other artists in this view? One is Australian.

3 thoughts on “The “What is art” question

  1. well one is a van Gogh (definately not from Oz), as for the other, I don’t know your work well enough to say what isn’t yours. I like what I see though. Your friend is right – don’t keep the canvases waiting too long, I have been occupied with non painting things for two weeks now and my canvases reach out to me as I pass by, like cats wanting to be fed. I feel the painting muscles weaken and the ideas fading – there’s a large hole that needs filling. Painting is a fire that one needs to keep alive – if the flames go out the world becomes cold, gray ash.

  2. thanks for your comments clinock. Yes, van Gogh. The other non-me is a Geoff Wilson, the large landscape (of the Piccadilly Valley). He was a lecturer at the SA School of Art for many years. He won’t have too many references on line as he doesn’t use these things, but still a wonderful painter. And yes, we need to PAINT!

Leave a Reply

