More Sydney paintings

So much about Sydney is inspiring for an artist. The excitement of the city and its people of course, but for me most exciting is its water – the harbour, inlets and ocean beaches. Coming from Adelaide many years ago to live on Sydney’s northern beaches I was impressed by the sheer power of the waves and the majesty of the seas.

Philippa Robert, Adelaide South Australia
Building swell (50x75cm) acrylic on canvas

Philippa Robert, Adelaide South Australia
A slice of ocean (20x25cm) acrylic on linen panel

Philippa Robert, Adelaide South Australia
Playing in the shallows (20x25cm) acrylic on linen panel
Philippa Robert, Adelaide South Australia
The wave’s wake (20x25cm) acrylic on linen panel

This series of paintings reflects the ocean as a strong presence in Sydney and in my life. I continue to be captivated by the rhythm and swirling surfaces of the waves at the shoreline and the ferries carving through the deep underlying calm of the harbour.

On show at breathing colours gallery and shop, 446 Darling Street Balmain 2041. Open 21st April to 3rd May 2015. Opening event: Sunday 26th April, 4-7pm

 

 

9 thoughts on “More Sydney paintings

  1. Hi Philippa, why am I not following you already? A huge oversight on my part…thanks for commenting on my blog and prompting me to visit yours again. These paintings are absolutely stunning! The waves are almost photographic in their detail but on closer inspection the lovely texture of your paint and brush is evident. I am so impressed. Best of luck with the exhibition!

    1. Hello Chez, lovely to hear from you. Glad to hear you enjoyed the paintings. Thanks for your comments. I really enjoy your images and your words. So tempting. And I love Brisbane!

Leave a Reply

