streetscapes(non)aus

Not sure whether you noticed, but this has been a post-free July and August for seascapes-aus. Just a few IT problems…
In the meantime as I will be painting in Rome soon with Kelly Medford and friends, I’ve been looking beyond my usual obsession with the sea.

Apologies for the uncropped images – on the run!

In Darlington recently…

Philippa Robert, Adelaide South Australia

Philippa Robert, Adelaide South Australia

This was a special request. I was setting up to paint the back garden late in the afternoon when a young friend asked me to paint this from a tiny photo. I stayed outside and painted like mad (squinting at the photo for about 45 minutes) until rain and tea stopped play.

Some time later in the Alsace….

Philippa Robert, Adelaide South Australia
View of a sunlit slope from the kitchen window. Work to do!

P1070775
l’Eglise, Natzwiller

Philippa Robert, Adelaide South Australia
Working on the balcony (in the blazing Alsace sun)!

Philippa Robert, Adelaide South Australia
The Netherlands! A pen and wash sketch of my favourite bridge in Zwolle. Its colour is a soft brick red – I regret my lack of kit that day.

On the way to Utrecht by train we passed a spectacular parking lot for cranes near ‘t Harde. Our host shared my enthusiasm and we set off the next morning to do some painting on the spot.

Philippa Robert, Adelaide South Australia
Morning at the Cranium, near ‘t Harde.

I am a big fan of Roos Schuring‘s seascapes but have also come to love her cows. To be in Holland and not paint cows would be wasting a golden opportunity. Agree?
I will save that for another post.

11 thoughts on “streetscapes(non)aus

  1. Philippa, what an extremely productive few weeks you’ve had here! I adore those pieces done in Alsace – the spire/cupola amidst the countryside and the rooftops dotted with so much color. You are truly ‘in your element’ here, as a painter. I can’t wait to see more of your landscape work while you travel!

    1. Thanks Patricia. It’s great to hear from you and to read your reactions. The landscape in the Alsace where we stayed was breathtaking. The experience of painting (and travelling) has been really enjoyable. And my feet have stayed dry!

  2. YES. You’ve been missed, Philippa! I love the balcony work, along with l’Eglise, Natzwiller. Rome? Wonderful! I’m sending positive, productive vibes your way. Not that you need them. Clearly, you’re in a zone. Cheers! Theadora

  3. Hi Philippa, it’s lovely to see what you have been up to recently and your paintings are amazing. I love Alsace and think you have captured its beauty incredibly well. I now can’t wait to see what you come up with next! Enjoy your travels 🙂

  4. So that’s what you are up to – ye gods I am envious – not that I am a landscape painter but what an experience…your work echoes the beauty of your travels – magnificent – I look forward to what comes out of Roma – happy trails…

Leave a Reply

