Approaching storm – reprise

A nice rainy day today. Just the sort of day for painting outdoors! At least if you have an unfinished picture of an approaching storm…

The first stage of this painting featured in an earlier post. Its title seemed to be ‘Rain on the way’ back then. There has been an intermediate stage which is hidden by today’s efforts. But not much was achieved that day, probably because of rain.

Here’s a look at this morning’s session. The drizzle kept the paint moist and I outlasted a light shower about an hour in. Eventually heavier rain sent me packing.

Philippa Robert, Adelaide South Australia Philippa Robert, Adelaide South Australia Philippa Robert, Adelaide South Australia Philippa Robert, Adelaide South Australia Philippa Robert, Adelaide South Australia

A man I had often seen stretching on the bars stopped on his walk for his routine. I hadn’t realised I was in that spot. He explained that he was recovering well from a knee replacement and preparing for his next one. The rain had brought quite a few acquaintances up off the sand onto the footpath. My other discovery was that I am beginning to recognise people by their dogs! Today I saw a rather beautiful Australian Shepherd and his friendly owner.

Perhaps I am becoming a dog lover. What do you think?

10 thoughts on “Approaching storm – reprise

  1. perhaps its because our independant feline friends are less keen on taking their persons on a leash for a walk.

  2. becoming a dog lover would be excellent progress I think, P ! Maybe you too will start painting Whippets and Greyhounds ?? 🙂 Fascinating photos of your outdoor session, very inspiring. xx

    1. I like your take on progress V! You give your painted dogs so much personality. They seem to be quirky little visitors to your paintings actually. I understand that more now…

  3. Success requires dogged determination and I’m not barking up the wrong tree when I say you have just that – standing in the rain with nothing but a Tilley for protection – inspiring. And what a powerful storm painting – love it…

  4. Philippa, John C. is so accurate in saying you’ve got determination! Look at how your chosen colors and brushstrokes depict that plant/brush area from the bottom left reaching upward. It looks determined in itself and magnificent! Also, I have never noticed before that you are left-handed! What is it I’m finding about painters who are naturally left-handed? They seem, in my experience, to always paint the most creative work. This piece is gorgeous, and I only wish I could be lucky enough to see it in-person!

  5. It was lovely and sunny down your way on Monday when I was visiting. And I’m curious to know what on earth is an Australian Shepherd??? That is, I should say, what was it back in the days when we didn’t claim other breeds as our own? LOL (I’m old enough to remember when German Shepherds were Alsatians. That’s all I mean.)

    1. Me too Felicity! The Australian Shepherd was a bigger looking border collie (or do I mean kelpie)? Black and white, long hair; nose not as slim. Perhaps a boutique blend. Glad you were here for the sun. Not much rain in sight despite predictions. Lucky I got that painting in.

Leave a Reply

