the great outdoors!

Yesterday the heat had eased. The wind was up, but it was the day of my planned return to paint with my outdoor painting colleagues. Venue: the Garden Island Yacht Club. Sounds inviting, doesn’t it?
Back troubles have been an issue lately, so instead of wriggling into the car (ouch) I wheeled my kit down to a nearby spot on the Esplanade. Close to home in case….

My ‘view-finder’ is AWOL so after making a crooked rectangle with my fingers I sorted out a composition to feature the dune grasses lined up against the grey-green sea. With so much less sea to see when sitting close to sea-level, there was much more vegetation to paint!

Philippa Robert, Adelaide South Australia

My one brush (size 8) would not cooperate with the grasses, so I did some scratching with a palette knife (usually a no-no for me). The painting is 10×14″ – just do-able in 2.5 hours.

It was lovely to be out there again. I met a few very nice people, including an artist colleague who stopped for a brief chat. My partner delivered a delicious coffee on his way out to shop. No back problems really except for some late niggles. Perfect.

My new trolley worked well.

Philippa Robert, Adelaide South Australia P1050910

And, there are hundreds of exciting compositions out there in that one spot, and thousands more spots!
Getting used to the rigours of it, but good to have broken the ice. Next Friday I will aim for Garden Island, but will do some more outdoors in the meantime.

In the studio, I am painting for a themed exhibition.
Painting to a theme? What do you think about that?

11 thoughts on “the great outdoors!

  1. Glad to see you back in “the action”, Philippa! Your new trolley full of goodies is a most excellent tool to assist you in your travels to landscape. I love how the seascape is a small hint in the backdrop of the lovely grasses. Looking forward to all the new things awaiting you!

  2. That trolley is a piece of kit ! Lovely atmospheric painting,P. Painting to a theme – great (depending on the theme !) – what is it ? 🙂 Love the idea that you’ve now got a new plein air spot. Look after your back 🙂 V, xx

  3. Thanks V! The theme is “In the mind of the beholder” as the show runs parallel to a psychology conference in Adelaide. Very open really, but have made 3 starts with altered seascapes. Perhaps all 3 will go in eventually but opens on Feb 15th. Yikes! Just found the great outdoors again too. Funny how it all happens at once!

Leave a Reply

