New Year, a new day

With the turning of the year comes a moment of shared understanding. Is it simply about the passage of time? Is it about the loss or regrets of the past or the hope of the brand spanking new?
It doesn’t take much more than Auld Lang Syne to affect me, even in mid-March sometimes. Perhaps it’s nostalgia? That comfy zone which doesn’t lead to much self analysis! Ah, the safety of that.
Could I be imagining the shared understanding? Since my days as a high school “exchange student” I have sought that as a uniting energy in our mixed-up (shattered) world.
But after a tumultuous Christmas and what naturally follows that, today is bright and sunny, clear and calm. The scene is serene, the sleepy sea is many shades of blue-green. People are walking, swimming, paddling, boating, running, kayaking, nattering, strolling and lolling about. They are just getting on with it!

Philippa Robert, Adelaide South Australia

My window on the world shows a picture of “She’ll be right mate” whatever the underlying reality. The human spirit is amazing.

Philippa Robert, Adelaide South Australia

I wish you a new year with many dreams fulfilled and true connections made. And of course, exceptional blogging experiences. Happy 2013!

7 thoughts on “New Year, a new day

  1. dear Philippa You are a very special connection for me. I love this reflective prose of yours and of course it intimidates me from getting into blogging Did you cleverly adjust the street sign? How ccan those people be doing all of those things after N Y Eve!! The air is wet outside here, you can see it moving, not rain or drizzle just dampness moving. a rainbowish day, I’ve just eaten my vegemite on toast to try to get going as its nearly 2pm!!! And the toast by sheer chance was in a very clear shape of Australia. (no faces of jesus) and yes… from here too you can’t see the world just people rushing to the bakery from an ungodly early hour this morning which disturbed our overnight guest’s sleep every best wish to you both XXXX Helen

    1. Thank you Helen! lovely comments. I can almost see the boulangerie (or is that the wrong word)?! That flour pumping in at 4am is your start to the day. And, yes it is my street art.

  2. Thanks for memories of summer. Coldest night of the winter here in Vancouver. I have heat up full plus a portable heater going and my hands are still freezing as I type. Maybe I should get some of those fingerless gloves like Dickensian clerks always wore. Your words are shared – I too get into a nostalgic and reflective frame of mind during these wet dark days – it’s good to pull back sometimes and quietly go over what has been and what is yet to be…

    1. I know the ones you mean. The BBC always makes those fingerless gloves look so grubby! You can buy them clean and new nowadays in fluoro colours, should you so desire… We had 45degC yesterday, so it was difficult to imagine you freezing. but I will take your word for it. Put another penny in the gas box?

      1. 45 c Yikes – that’s bloody hot excuse my french – that’s frying eggs on the pavement heat. When last I lived in England in the early 60’s it was a bob (shilling) for the meter. A penny got you a leak at the local public loo. Yes, I’ve seen the new generation of fingerless glove – I prefer the BBC version.

  3. Philippa, I have been concerned about my friends in Oz such as yourself with the insane hot temps I’ve been told you’re experiencing. A friend in Melbourne had her air con break from too much use, so I can only imagine how much your outdoor landscape painting has had to take an unwanted break. I see you’re doing portraiture – how wonderfully diverse a painter you are to just pick up and go onward with a differing subject line altogether! Stay cool and well, my friend!

    1. Thank you Patricia! so far so good right here and now. Other states are not faring as well, but I understand there has been no loss of life despite terrible devastation. We often borrow Elvis from California when the need arises but haven’t heard that he’s back (in the auditorium) yet.

Leave a Reply

