Christmas gifts 2

Atelier Robert was really humming yesterday and probably did my best work in the morning. At the end of the day (9 pots of jam made in the early morning) I thought I had finished all four Christmas gifts. After all our party guests had gone at 11.30pm I went to check on the fourth and realised that one eye needs attention and the whole thing might need more paint!

Today I will post poor little number one, F, who has had so many reworkings he is almost worn out. When the likeness becomes too important the painting suffers. Anyway, I have learned a couple of things from the whole performance and will reveal them later…

Philippa Robert, Adelaide South Australia

P1050686

P1050687

P1050688

P1050689

Philippa Robert, Adelaide South Australia

Philippa Robert, Adelaide South Australia

As I said, poor little thing! He would never had stood for all this, or sat for it.
The early drawings are a better likeness than the painting. I have also been working from b&w photos, to encourage my tonal vision. Just concocted that name – sounds awfully like tunnel vision doesn’t it?

Oh well, onto finishing Mr W, number 4.

 

4 thoughts on “Christmas gifts 2

  1. Thank you V! And best wishes for Christmas to you too. I will keep you ‘posted.’ The lessons are in Christmas Gifts 3 – but today I could only remember one. The others will emerge later. Thanks for your interest in such things!

Leave a Reply

