the human element

A lot has happened on the family front in these parts in the past few weeks. Mostly good things, some a bit mixed.

In the last few days however it’s been all GO in a thousand other directions. I have been reunited with my paint brushes, re-acquainted with the gymnasium, had high-tech brother’s emergency help with an inoperative modem, painfully long conversations with an overseas worker chasing up tel-co issues and two new toilets installed. Too much info?

On Monday, my first day back in the studio for about a month, I felt free, fresh and giddy enough to add some figures to three paintings.

Philippa Robert, Adelaide South Australia

There is also a dog in the Olive grove, but it’s difficult to spot at this resolution.

Philippa Robert

The third painting is a more radical change, so I’ll post the before and after versions.

Philippa Robert, Adelaide South Australia

Philippa Robert, Adelaide South Australia

So that’s it, so far……

16 thoughts on “the human element

  1. Glad to hear you’re not resting on your laurels, Philippa 🙂 Wow, that 3rd painting is a radical change – what prompted this ?
    I think my favourite of these is the Olive Grove. Well done allround, Victoria xx

    1. Probably mild-complete abandon, V! The whole thing is a fabrication, so I just added in. I do a bit of gazing from the balcony (although I don’t look like that of course). Glad you like the Olive Grove, thanks, Philippa

  2. Nifty recession in the olive grove. You are so good at simplifying your landscapes. I suppose that comes from painting the sea, which is impossibly complicated.

    1. Thanks Aline! I like rows of things, even if they are not very tidy. This painting is quite small 10×8″, so that controls it!

  3. Lovely paintings Philippa, you’re very brave to go back and add in extra detail, the 3rd painting was an especially dramatic addition. They all look lovely though, I think the Olive Grove is my favourite too 🙂

    1. Thanks Rachael. That’s the flexibility of acrylics. Just go back and bung it on, and even take a toothbrush to it if it doesn’t work. After a time away from painting I am feeling a bit less precious about my work, particularly the landscapes!

  4. i love your self potrait gazing out, and yes it is. The olive groves too are captured as my memory has them embedded. Great to see these.

    1. Thanks Helen. Glad the olive grove matched your memory! You must have a good very long term memory – that’s all I can say about the other one… Great to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

