Let me tell you another story

This painting began on a really hot day in the high 30s when the sand was glaring white and the sea was at its blue-greenest. Because we live so close to the sea we can have a dip at any time of day without too much fuss and have the luxury of being able to avoid the hottest time out there. For people who travel to the beach by car with umbrellas and Eskys it is important to stay long enough to make the trip worthwhile.

people on the beach, Australia

So, back to the painting. First it was the brilliance of the sea colours against the bright sand that caught my eye, so I exaggerated those. Secondly the contrast between the tiny skerrick of shade with the expanse of hot sand was important to me, so I magnified it. There were a few other people on the sandhill but the composition did not need them. The umbrella offered little protection but allowed the introduction of a bright lolly pink to add some summer gaiety.

The painting was created for a ‘postcards’ exhibition at nearby seaside Glenelg. It was necessarily a simple composition but also enough of a popular image to suit the format.And it was a quickie. A little bit out of the ordinary for me, so simple it could possibly be formulaic. It has grown on me however and I like it more as time goes on.

Will I make my fortune that way?

3 thoughts on “Let me tell you another story

  1. Gorgeous – those bands of blue and the burning white of the sand radiate the heat of the day out of the canvas and the small, floating island of “lolly pink” is perfection. Also, a bonus – I learned two new words – Eskys and skerrick, thank you…

Leave a Reply

